New Missouri State Law Raises Age for Marriage

Missouri Governor Mike Parson has signed into law legislation which will raise the minimum age for a minor to marry in the State of Missouri to the age of 16.

Her legislation was added to a Senate bill in the final week of session, which then won approval from both chambers of the Legislature.

Not only does the new law prohibit the issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 16, but it also bans the marriage of a male or female 21 years of age or older to any male or female under 18 years of age.

The law retains the requirement that any minor under the age of 18 years must have the written consent of a custodial parent or guardian to obtain a marriage license.

Previous law in Missouri allowed a county judge to order the issuance of a marriage license to a child under 15 years of age “for good cause shown and by reason of such unusual conditions as to make such marriage advisable.”

Circuit and associate circuit judges will no longer have the discretion to exempt minors from the minimum age for marriage prescribed in the law.

DSWA Moves Back!

The renovation, redecoration, and overall re-design of DSWA’s office building at 210 West Ohio Street in Butler is complete! John Daniel and his certified public accounting staff are eager to be moving back in after more than 12 months in their temporary location.

Note: the DSWA Butler Office will be closed on Wednesday, July 18th through Friday, July 20th to complete the moving process. DSWA in Butler will not have phone or internet service during this time.

If you need service on those days, contact the DSWA Nevada Office at 888-320-5106 or the DSWA Raymore Office at 888-210-3560. These numbers are toll-free are listed at www.dswacpa.com.

John Daniel and his staff will be completely moved in and re-open for business at 210 West Ohio Street in Butler on Monday, July 23rd.

DSWA in Butler thanks you for your business and patience.