John Teagarden Inducted into the Kansas Fairs and Festival Association Hall of Fame

Linn County Fair Board member John Teagarden. La Cygne, was inducted into the Kansas Fairs & Festivals Association Hall of Fame at the 98th annual convention of the association January 28 in Topeka.

The association, composed of county fair groups across Kansas, annually recognizes up to four board members for their long-time contributions to their local fair.

Teagarden, a 55-year member on the Linn County Fair & Rodeo Board, serves on the local fair’s rodeo, publicity, and sponsor/contestant meal committees. He was also instrumental in the formation of the Eastern Kansas Rodeo group composed of PRCA Rodeos at Coffeyville, Fredonia, Eureka and Mound City.

Teagarden was introduced at the awards luncheon by fellow fair board member Charley Johnson, Prescott. Johnson noted that the Linn County Fair was 151 years old (believed to be the second oldest in Kansas) and that the 75th anniversary of the PRCA Rodeo was celebrated last August.

The Linn County Fair has ten past and present board members that have been inducted into the Kansas Fairs & Festivals Hall of Fame over the past four decades.

These include former county extension agent Larry Blair and board members Edwin McWilliams and Robert Teagarden, all deceased.