Lucas Oil Speedway Cancels Postseason Awards Banquet

WHEATLAND, MO. (Sept. 1, 2020) – Due to uncertainty with COVID-19 restrictions in regards to indoor gatherings, Lucas Oil Speedway will not hold its normal postseason awards banquet this year.
General Manager Danny Lorton said the top 10 drivers in each of the four Big Adventure Weekly Racing Series divisions will receive their trophies and checks later this fall, with arrangements made to pick those up at the speedway office or mailed to the drivers.
“The banquet takes a lot of advance planning and, with so much uncertain about whether indoor gatherings will be allowed or tightly restricted in terms of social distancing regulations, we feel it’s best for everyone if we didn’t have the championship banquet this year,” Lorton said.
“Many locations around the area that we were considering for the banquet already have capacity restrictions for their banquet halls, which is another reason we won’t proceed as usual.”
Lorton said plans for distributing the awards to the drivers will be announced once the season concludes in October.
Season champions for 2020 were Robbie Reed of Mexico, Missouri (Pitts Homes USRA Modifieds), Derek Brown of Stoutland (O’Reilly Auto Parts Street Stocks), Lebanon’s Kris Jackson (Ozark Golf Cars USRA B-Mods) and Cole Henson of Russellville (Warsaw Auto Marine & RV ULMA Late Models).
Fans also can look forward to video tributes from the speedway’s video team to each of the four champions later this fall on the Lucas Oil Speedway Facebook page.