Missouri Broadcasters Association to Honor 2020 Hall of Fame Inductees


Jefferson City, Missouri, January 22, 2020 – Broadcasters Don Hicks, Betsey Bruce and Jim Bohannon will be inducted into the Missouri Broadcasters Association’s Hall of Fame on Saturday, June 6 at the Lodge of Four Seasons in Lake Ozark.  The induction ceremony will be part of the 2020 Awards Banquet at the MBA annual convention.

Don Hicks was the President/CEO of the MBA from April 1994 through December 2012 and President Emeritus in 2013.  Don’s 19 years of leadership established the MBA as one of the top five Broadcast Associations in the United States.

Betsey Bruce was the first female TV journalist reporting hard news in St. Louis.  She was a writer, reporter and anchor at KMOX-TV (now KMOV-TV) from 1970 to 1989, and at KTVI and KPLR from 1989 through 2016.  Her 46 years in broadcasting made her one of St. Louis’ most respected and treasured TV journalists.

Jim Bohannon, from Lebanon, Missouri, was a former Missouri radio broadcaster in both the Lebanon and Springfield markets.  After four years of service in the U.S. Army, Jim worked in radio in both Chicago and Washington D.C.  Today, he is the host of the nationally syndicated “Jim Bohannon Show” on the Westwood One Radio Network.

The Missouri Broadcasters Hall of Fame began in 2011.  Past inductees can be found at https://www.mbaweb.org/mba-hall-of-fame/   Mark Gordon, MBA President/CEO said, “We are pleased to honor these deserving broadcasters who had a tremendous impact on our state’s industry and history.”

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest