New Commissioners Confirmed by the Missouri Senate

JEFFERSON CITY – The September appointments by Gov. Eric Greitens of Robert G. Brinkmann and Terry L. Ecker to the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission were confirmed today by the Missouri Senate.

Brinkmann is chief executive officer of Brinkmann Constructors, a company he founded in 1984. A graduate of the University of Missouri-Rolla (now Missouri University of Science and Technology) with a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering, Brinkmann is a registered professional engineer in Missouri.

Brinkmann is active in many civic organizations including Junior Achievement, chair emeritus of the board of trustees for Missouri S&T, member of the board of directors for the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Foundation, member of the St. Louis Police Chief’s Club, member of the Academy of Civil Engineers, and “Honorary Trooper” of the Missouri State Highway Patrol. He and his wife, Kim, live in St. Albans, Missouri.

Ecker and his wife, Susan, raise corn, soybeans and cattle on their farm northwest of Elmo, Missouri, just one-quarter of a mile from where Ecker’s great, great grandfather settled in Nodaway County in 1868. He received a bachelor of science degree in agricultural economics from the University of Missouri-Columbia and is a graduate of Agriculture Leaders of Tomorrow Class IX.

Ecker was appointed by three different U.S. Secretaries of Agriculture to represent Missouri on the United Soybean Board. He is a past vice chairman of the U.S. Soybean Export Council and has served as an agriculture field representative for U.S. Representative Sam Graves. He is a member of Missouri Farm Bureau and currently serves as president of the Nodaway County Farm Bureau. Ecker is a member of the Missouri Cattlemen’s Association, Missouri Corn Growers and Missouri Soybean Association.

The terms of Brinkmann and Ecker, both Republicans, expire March 1, 2023. They have been serving on the Commission since their appointment on Sept. 8, 2017.

The Missouri Highways and Transportation is a six-member citizens’ panel that governs MoDOT. It can have no more than three members from any one political party. Members are appointed to staggered six-year terms by the governor and must be confirmed by the Senate.

Other members of the Commission are Chairman Mike Pace, West Plains; Vice Chairman Gregg Smith, Clinton; Tom Waters, Orrick; and John Briscoe, New London.